Follow FEMS on

FEMS-Jensen Award

The FEMS-Jensen Award (initiated by J.R. Norris).

The FEMS-Jensen Award was established to support early career microbiologists and is, named after the Danish soil microbiologist Dr Hans Laurits Jensen (1898-1977). The award was initiated through a donation by the UK-microbiologist Dr John R. Norris CBE, an Editor of Methods in Microbiology and a former FEMS Treasurer. Dr Jensen was the tutor of Dr Norris and many other soil microbiologists. He was one the 20th century foremost scientists and teachers in the field of symbiotic and non-symbiotic nitrogen fixation, soil microbiological activity, and the taxonomy of Actinomycetes, Azotobacter, mycobacteria and coryneform bacteria, as well as a pioneer in microbial degradation of pesticides. Dr Jensen was active in England and Australia, as well as in his native Denmark. More information about Dr H.L. Jensen and his work can be found in an article in FEMS Circular 57 authored by Dr Arne Helweg.

The award is intended to recognise academic achievement and superior research accomplishments showing significant potential to develop an outstanding research career. The award honours Dr Hans Laurits Jensen for helping young scientists in establishing their scientific career.

The award comprises a fellowship for spending at least half a year in an outstanding research laboratory chosen by the student. The maximum award amounts to € 10 000.

Eligible are outstanding European students of microbiology at the final stages of their PhD studies, or those who received their PhD-degree less than three years from the application deadline.

The award will in principle be given once every two years. The awardee will be announced during the FEMS Congress.

Interested candidates are asked to submit their application to the convenor of the Awards Board (FEMS President) via FEMS Central Office.

Regulations and Application
The detailed regulations governing the FEMS-Jensen Award and the application form  are available electronically: 

To download these documents to your own computer: 'right' click with your mouse-pointer on the hyperlink and select 'Save Target As...'. 



The deadline for the receipt of applications is 01 March of the FEMS Congress year (e.g. 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019....). 

FEMS-Jensen Awardees

FEMS-Jensen Awardee 2010

Dr Aviram Rasouly

Research Project:  Defining the genetic basis of intracellular signaling regulating the expression of virulence factors by Pseudomonas aeruginosa

Home Institute: Laboratory of Prof Eliora Ron, The Department of Molecular Microbiology, Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel
Host Institute: Laboratory of Prof Stephen Lory, The Department of Microbiology, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA
Date: February 2010

FEMS-Jensen Awardee 2005


Dr María-Luisa del Rio-González

Research Project:  The role of chemokine receptors in B-cell migration in response to a thymus independent antigen

Home Institute: Arrixaca University Hospital, El Palmar (Murcia), Spain.
Host Institute: Medizinische Hochschule, Hannover, Germany (Prof. Dr R. Förster)
Date: 27 May 2005

Forgot your password?